Carpe Diem

Life is a strange whirlpool of experiences, emotions, adventures and so much more. Its a roller coaster filled with highs, lows, twists, turns, and even a few loops. It’s fun, it’s exciting. It’s happy, it’s sad. It makes you want to scream in excitement and sometimes it makes you so pissed that you want to break something. Sometimes it can be super fun and other times it can be super scary.

What I am trying to get at is that life is unpredictable. You may wake up one day thinking your day is going to go one way, but it turns out to be the complete opposite. To be clear, that’s not always a bad thing, in my opinion. I like not knowing what’s going to happen when I wake up in the morning sometimes. It gives me something to look forward to. I must admit, there are times that I struggle to be excited about what life has to offer. For example, I’m graduating college in a year, and between you and me I am soooooooo nervous. I don’t know what I am going to do this summer let alone the job I’m going to have for the rest of my life. It feels like everyone around me has their life together and I’m just the lone friend trying guess which One Direction member will have a kid next.

The first time I heard the Latin term “carpe diem” was a few years ago when I was in middle school. I remember my teacher explaining what it meant, but I never paid attention or really cared to understand its true meaning. It wasn’t until I was in college that I fully grasped the concept of “seizing the day”. My sister and I often struggle with the idea of going out and exploring all that life has to offer and doing what our hearts desire. One of our biggest concerns often is that people might laugh at us or think we’re weird or awkward when we try something new or different. It took us a while to realize that the key is to not focus on other people and what they are doing, but focus on ourselves and how we feel.  However, being in college has taught me and my sister that everyone is just as scared as you. Everyone worries about what’s next and how they look/come across.

I don’t like thinking of carpe diem as taking on life one day or moment at a time. I like to look at the bigger picture, it helps me stay more focused. To me carpe diem means taking life head on and living life to the fullest, it means being spontaneous and making the most out of every experience. It means put aside all of the negative thoughts and fears and just going for it, whatever it maybe.

So CARPE THAT FREAKING DIEM and be the best that you can be!!

Moral of the story: Don’t let people stop you from doing you!

With Love,

Chanel & Chanté Jay

Leave a Reply

Create a free website or blog at WordPress.com.

Up ↑

